Chat with us,powered by LiveChat

Growers Council

The Growers Council represents the needs of the grower industry segment within the Society of American Florists.

The year noted after each individuals name indicates when their term on the Council expires.

Jamie Kitz head shot
Jamie Kitz, AAF
Sakata, Inc.
18095 Serene Dr
Morgan Hill, CA 95037
Tel: 831-809-3004
Fax: 260-672-9065

Matt Altman (2021)
Altman Plants/Floragem
3742 Blue Bird Canyon Rd
Vista, CA 92084
Tel: 760-744-8191
Fax: 760-744-8835

Austin T. Bryant (2021)
Heart of Florida Greenhouses. Inc.
7555 Crewsville Rd
Zolfo Springs, FL 33890
Tel: 863-735-1199
Fax: 863-735-1081

Hank Bukowski The Scotts Miracle-Gro Company Marysville, Ohio Hank Bukowski is director of live goods at The Scotts Miracle-Gro Company, a 149-year-old company in Marysville, Ohio. Bukowski grew up working on his grandfather’s rose farm and has been in the floral industry for more than 40 years. He has a Bachelor’s degree in ornamental horticulture from Delaware Valley College of Science and Agriculture and has worked as a grower, greenhouse manager and general manager. Bukowski has served on the board of AmericanHort. Before that, he served on its Grower Council. He has spoken at Cultivate, the association’s annual trade show, for 20 consecutive years. Bukowski also belongs to the Floriculture Alliance Research Group.
Hank Bukowski (2020)
American Color, Inc.
22495 Thornhill Rd
Orange, VA 22960
Tel: 540-854-5200

Patrick Busch Len Busch Roses Plymouth, Minnesota Patrick Busch is CEO of Len Busch Roses in Plymouth, Minnesota. In addition to roses, the 52-year-old family-run company grows alstroemeria, lilies, gerberas, snapdragons, delphiniums, tulips and blooming plants. Len Busch Roses also operates a wholesale business selling cut flowers, bouquets, blooming and green plants and floral supplies. Busch has Bachelor’s degrees in horticulture and business from Michigan State University. He has been a member of SAF’s Growers Council since 2015. He served as vice president of the Minnesota State Floral Association from 2010 to 2014 and as a board member of the Flower Promotion Organization from 2005 to 2015.

Patrick Busch (2020)
Len Busch Roses
4045 Hwy 101
Plymouth, MN  55446
Tel: 763-478-9329
Fax: 763-478-6009

Rodi Groot Sun Valley Floral Group Oxnard, California Robert Dirk “Rodi” Groot is product coordinator and bouquet manager of the Sun Valley Floral Group in Oxnard, California. He has a degree in trade and management from Boerma Instituut in Aalsmeer, the Netherlands and 37 years experience in the industry. His expertise is in care and handling, field and cooler inventory management, financial management and marketing. He served on the Produce Marketing Organization’s floral council from 2007 to 2008. From 2012 to 2014, he chaired the promotion committee for the California Cut Flower Commission and, in 2014, he chaired the committee that started American Grown Flowers.
Rodi Groot (2020)
Sun Pacific Bouquet / The Sun Valley Group
3132 E Pleasant Valley Rd
Oxnard, CA 93033
Tel: 805-797-4819

Ross Johnson (2022)
175 SW 7th St Ste 2301
Miami, Florida 33130-2964
Tel (305) 644-8459

Stephen Kennicott (2022)
Kennicott Kuts, LLC
1638 W Hubbard St
Chicago, IL 60622-6723
Tel: 212-514-2299

Rita Jo Shoultz (2022)
Alaska Perfect Peony
PO Box 15226
Fritz Creek, Alaska 99603-6226
Tel (907) 299-0261

Robin Van der Schaaf (2021)
Flamingo Holland, Inc
1250 Avenida Chelsea
Vista, CA 92081
Tel: 760-734-1033
Fax: 760-727-1173

Herb Van der Ende, Jr. (2020)
Burnaby Lake Greenhouses, Ltd.
17250 80th Ave
Surrey, BC V4N 3G4 Canada
Tel: 604-576-2088
Fax: 604-576-2475

Susie Bachman West Bachman’s Minneapolis, Minnesota
Susie Bachman West (2022)
Bachman’s, Inc.
6010 Lyndale Ave S
Minneapolis, Minnesota 55419
Tel (612) 861-7661

2019 © Society of American Florists

Safnow Login

SAF Members only. Please login to access this page.

Not a member? Click here to find out why you should join SAF today.

Email :

Password :

Lost your password?