Sylvia Cup Winners

Sylvia Cup 2022 winning designs

The Sylvia Cup is the U.S. floral industry’s longest-running annual, live national floral design competition. In 1967, SAF instituted the Sylvia Award in dedication to the memory of Sylvia MacGuffog Valencia, AAF, one of the floral industry’s leading designers and businesswomen, charter member of AAF, respected carnation grower and longtime supporter of SAF.

As a showcase for unique and innovative design, the competition has seen many of the industry’s top designers among its winners:

2023 Sylvia Cup Winner - Michael Smith, AAF, AIFD, CFD, FDI, FSMD, PFCI

2023 Winner

Michael Smith, AAF, AIFD, CFD, FDI, FSMD, PFCI

Artistic Designs Unlimited

2022 Sylvia Cup Winner - Kelsey Thompson, AIFD

2022 Winner

Kelsey Thompson, AIFD

Bloom Floral and Home Studio, Algona, Iowa

Jenna Naylor Temple AIFD, GMF

2021 Winner

Jenna Naylor Temple AIFD, GMF

Bloom with Jenna, Grayson, Georgia

2019 Winner

Donald Yim, AIFD, PFCI

Richmond, British Columbia Canada

2018 Winner

Rey Rodriguez, AAF, AIFD, TMFA
The Gypsy Florist
Austin, Texas
Sponsored by The Gypsy Florist

2016 Winner

Derek Woodruff, AIFD, PFCI, CF
Floral Underground
Traverse City, Michigan

2015 Winner

Loann Burke, AAF, AIFD, PFCI
Furst Florist and Greenhouses
Dayton, Ohio

2014 Winner

Jacob McCall, AAF, AIFD, FSMD
The Elite Flower
Miami, Florida

2013 Winner
Joyce Mason-Monheim, AIFD, AZMF, PFCI

2012 Winner
Vincent Petrovsky, AAF, AIFD

2011 Winner
John Hosek, AIFD, PFCI, CAFA, CF

2010 Winner
Kyle Roberson

2009 Winner
Cindy Anderson, AIFD

2008 Winner
Coby Neal, AIFD, PFCI

2007 Winner
Ian Prosser, AAF, AIFD, PFCI, NDSF

2006 Winner
Conrad Quijas, AIFD

2005 Winner
Alex Torres

Lee Burcher, AIFD – 2004

Conrad Quijas – 2003

Debbie Holth, AIFD – 2002

John Klingel, AAF, AIFD, PFCI – 2000

Song Ki Yun, AIFD – 1999

Kirk Foster, AIFD – 1997

Patricia Gomez – 1996

Susan Standerfer, AIFD – 1995

Richard Crause – 1994

Steve Brickner, AAF, AIFD, PFCI – 1993

Catherine Hillen-Rulloda, AIFD, PFCI – 1992

Rene van Rems, AIFD, PFCI – 1991

Mark Newcomb – 1990

Allan Howze – 1989

Brian K. Gathright – 1987

Ken Senter, AIFD – 1986

Robert Brown – 1985

Osamu Honjo, AIFD – 1984

Wayne Piper – 1983

Gary Schott, AAF, AIFD – 1982

Louis Pattillo, AAF, AIFD – 1980

Richard Coleman, AAF – 1979

Charles Kofler, AAF – 1978

Karlton Morris, AAF – 1977

Grace Rymer, AAF, AIFD, PFCI – 1976

Frances Jones Poetker, AAF, PFCI – 1975

Arthur Ito, AAF, AIFD – 1975

Michael Polychrones, AAF, AIFD, PFCI – 1974

Charles Bannow, AAF, AIFD – 1973

Alan James, AAF & Mrs. Alan James -1972

Vincent Adamo, AAF – 1972

Vincent Adamo, AAF – 1971

Irwin J. Kilday, AAF – 1970

Dorothy Temple, AAF, AIFD – 1969

C. Clinton Lindley, Jr., AAF – 1968

S. Louis Battinelli, Jr., AAF – 1967

© Society of American Florists

Safnow Login

SAF Members only. Please login to access this page.

Not a member? Click here to find out why you should join SAF today.

Email :

Password :

Lost your password?